Coming Up in May (2016)

We have now officially entered the realm of summer blockbusters, as well as all the other little movies that will try to make their mark at the same time. Here is a list of what will kick off the summer season- what are you most excited for?

 May 3

Adventures on the Red Plane

adventures-on-the-red-plane

Young and excitable Fernandinho’s imagination is opened by a storybook, causing him to travel around the world, overcome fears and make new discoveries. Animation, Adventure, Family, Comedy. Not Yet Rated. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This doesn’t seem to have made it to a theater near me, but even so, it seems a little young for anyone over the age of 5. Parents might have to sleep through this one. 

May 6

The Offering (aka The Faith of Anna Waters)

THE-OFFERING-2016.jpg

When reporter Jaime Rice (Elizabeth Waters) finds out that her sister has died under mysterious circumstances, she travels to Singapore to discover that multiple deaths have been linked with her sisters, and she must join forces with her sister’s husband to defeat a demonic entity attempting to complete an ancient mission to revive evil. Drama, Horror, Mystery. Not Yet Rated, contains Violence, Gore, Intense/Frightening Scenes. Likelihood I’ll go see it: As much as I like horror movies, I can name five different ones that I saw combined for this one movie. I’ll just go watch those again. 

Pelé: Birth of a Legend

get-set-to-meet-the-legend-as-pele-birth-of-a-legend-hits-screens-on-may-13-0001

The historic rise of Pelé from the slums of Sao Paulo to leading Brazil to its first World Cup victory at the age of 17. Biography, Drama, Sport. Rated PG for thematic elements, some smoking and language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’m not a huge soccer fan, so I’m probably going to give this a pass. I know the name Pelé but literally nothing else. 

Captain America: Civil War

MV5BMjQ0MTgyNjAxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjUzMDkyODE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpg

As the government begins to demand more control over the Avengers’ activities, a rift begins to form between Captain America and Iron Man, causing the rest of the group to take sides in an oncoming war. Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller. Rated PG-13 for Violence/Gore, Profanity, Alcohol/Drugs/Smoking, Frightening/Intense scenes. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Despite the fact that I’m already crying that these guys have to fight, I’m definitely going to be there. Sobbing. In the front row. 

Mothers and Daughters

embed_MD_theatrical_FINAL

The question “what does it mean to be a mother?” is explored through interwoven stories as seen through the eyes of photographer Rigby Gray (Selma Blair). Drama. Rated PG-13 for some mature thematic elements and brief drug use. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This is the more serious equivalent of Mother’s Day, as far as I can tell, but it looks way better to me. Or at least less obnoxious. I’d definitely take my mother to this one. 

May 13

The Trust

The-Trust-2016-film

Two nobody cops (Nicholas Cage and Elijah Wood) working in the evidence room of the L.A. Police Department discover a mysterious bank vault in connection to a drug bust and attempt to find out what is inside. Crime, Thriller. Rated R for violence, language, some sexuality/nudity and drug use. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Might provide a laugh, might be groan-worthy. I’m not sure how I feel about this one. 

A Bigger Splash

a-bigger-splash

The vacation of a famous rock star (Tilda Swinton) and filmmaker (Matthias Schoenaerts) are disrupted when an old friend (Ralph Fiennes) visits with his daughter (Dakota Johnson) and creates a whirlwind of passion, jealousy and danger. Crime, Drama, Mystery. Rated R for graphic nudity, some strong sexual content, language and brief drug use. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I didn’t even realize there was supposed to be danger until the last three seconds of the trailer. Otherwise it seems kinda dull. 

The Lobster

The_Lobster.jpg

In a dystopian future, single people are taken to The Hotel- a place where they have forty-five days to find a romantic partner, or they are turned into animals and taken into The Woods. Drama, Romance, Sci-Fi. Rated R for sexual content and some violence. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’m really unsure about this one. The premise sounds interesting, but the trailer was sending some very mixed messages…

Money Monster

money-monster-00

Financial TV host Lee Gates (George Clooney) and his producer Patty (Julia Roberts) are faced with an irate investor who has lost everything taking over their studio, causing a tense standoff broadcast on live TV to solve the mystery of high-tech, fast-pawed global markets. Crime, Drama, Thriller. Rated R for language throughout, some sexuality and brief violence. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This actually looks pretty interesting, I’ll give it a whirl. 

The Darkness

The_Darkness_poster

A family returns from a trip to the Grand Canyon with the supernatural presence of Native American spirits in tow. Horror, Thriller. Rated PG-13 for thematic elements, some disturbing violence, brief sensuality and language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Right now, the biggest draw is it comes out on a Friday the 13th. So maybe since I’ll be in the mood for something scary. 

Love and Friendship

Love-Friendship-1-e1453767274288

Lady Susan Vernon (Kate Beckinsale) makes a temporary visit to her in-laws’ estate and is determined to find a match for bother herself and her daughter while she waits out the colorful rumors about her dalliances that float through polite society. Drama, Romance. Rated PG for some thematic elements. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I wasn’t even totally sure what I was watching in the trailer, so I don’t think I probably will. 

Search Party

searchparty

A pair of friends set out for Mexico to rescue a friend and reunite him with the woman he was going to marry. Comedy. Rated R for language throughout, drug use, graphic nudity and sexual content. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Does T.J. Miller ever play a different character? Because I haven’t seen it yet. But no, this looks stupid funny, and I can’t usually do stupid funny. 

Sunset Song

Sunset_Song_(film)_POSTER

The daughter of a Scottish farmer comes of age in the early 1900s in a time of conflict. Drama. Rated R for sexuality, nudity and some violence. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I don’t know, it seems very pretty but the story seems dry for me. 

Kill Zone 2

Heropage-980x560_38

Undercover cop Kit (Wu Jing) becomes a junkie in order to catch a mastermind behind a crime syndicate. When the operation goes sour and his cover is blown, he disappears without a trace and his uncle traces him to a prison in Thailand, where he and a prison guard must work to keep Kit alive. Action, Crime, Thriller. Not Yet Rated. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Not even sure I’ll get this anywhere near me, but even if I do, I’ll probably skip it. 

Dheepan

CgpC1r8UYAAuYi6

A Sri Lankan Tamil warrior flees to France and ends up working as a caretaker outside of Paris with two strangers to pose as his family. Crime, Drama. Rated R for violence, language and brief sexuality/nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This is one of those movies I know I’ll feel guilty for not seeing, so if it comes I’ll try to catch it. 

Sundown

Sundown-2016-moviespro.me_

High school seniors Logan and Blake discover that Logan’s crush is going to Puerto Vallarta for Spring Break and they follow her down, opening themselves up to the craziest vacation of their lives. Action, Comedy, Romance. Rated R for crude sexual content, graphic nudity, language throughout, some drug use, and for teen partying. Likelihood I’ll go see it: It kinda looks like The Hangover for teenagers. Skip. 

May 20

Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising

zac-efron-neighbors-2-poster-baywatch-set-01

After a sorority obsessed with partying moves in next door, Mac (Seth Rogen) and Kelly (Rose Bryne) seek help from Teddy (Zac Efron) to make sure the sorority is evicted from the neighborhood. Comedy. Rated R for crude sexual content, brief nudity, language throughout, drug use and teen partying. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Haven’t seen the first one, if I do go see it, it’ll be for cheap tickets and only because of Zac Efron’s abs. 

The Angry Birds Movie

angrybirdsmovie

When an island populated by happy, flightless birds is visited by mysterious green pigs who steal their eggs, it is up to three outcasts to track down and retrieve the stolen eggs by turning the birds into weapons of destruction. Animation, Action, Comedy, Family. Rated PG for rude humor and action. Likelihood I’ll go see it: What kind of world do we live in where Angry Birds needs a movie?! That game is barely even relevant anymore! Skipppppp!

The Nice Guys

nice-guys-poster-600x889

A private eye investigates an apparent suicide in 1970s L.A. and uncovers a conspiracy leading back to the Department of Justice. Action, Comedy, Crime, Mystery, Thriller. Rated R for violence, sexuality, nudity, language and brief drug use. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’m a fan of Russell Crowe, but I’m not a huge fan of this time period…we’ll see. 

Maggie’s Plan

h6

Maggie (Greta Gerwig) has already planned to have a baby on her own, but that falls apart when she falls in love with John (Ethan Hawke), a married man. His marriage implodes and Maggie begins to realize that he and his wife are actually perfect for each other. Comedy. Rated R for language and some sexuality. Likelihood I’ll go see it: While I definitely didn’t get a comedy vibe from the trailer, the premise does seem interesting. I might give it a try. 

Manhattan Night 

images.jpeg

A New York City tabloid writer (Adrien Brody) works on the scandal beat, covering murder, tragedy and anything that passes for truth. When the seductive Caroline Crowley (Yvonne Strahovski) asks him to look into the unsolved murder of her husband, he is drawn into a case of sexual obsession and blackmail that threatens his entire world. Based on the novel by Colin Harrison. Crime, Drama, Mystery, Thriller. Rated R for sexual content, nudity, violence and language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’ve heard this premise before, but the trailers always look so good…I might try it, just to see if it’s any better than others of this nature. 

Hard Sell

hqdefault

A high school student struggles to help his suffering mom and their sick dog forms an unlikely friendship with a beautiful runaway and begins to use her to help make some extra money. No current details available. Likelihood I’ll go see it: It looks like a weird cross between a John Green book and something like Bad Neighbors… I’ll probably give this a pass. 

May 27

X-Men: Apocalypse

maxresdefault

The world’s first mutant, Apocalypse, reappears with the intention of cleansing the world of mankind and restoring mutants to the head of the world. Raven and Professor X must lead a team of young X-Men to stop their nemesis and save the world from complete destruction. Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci-Fi. Rated PG-13 for sequences of violence, action/destruction, brief strong language and some suggestive images. Likelihood I’ll go see it: At this point it’s not “want” so much as “can’t”, since I haven’t seen any other X-Men movies. It does seem interesting though. 

Alice Through the Looking Glass

Alice_Through_the_Looking_Glass_(film)_poster.jpg

Alice returns to Wonderland to find that the Lord of Time plans to turn the clock forwards and turn Wonderland into a barren, lifeless world and that a plot is in motion to put the Red Queen back on the throne. She must travel back in time to save the Mad Hatter and Wonderland itself. Adventure, Family, Fantasy. Rated PG for fantasy action/peril and some language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Of course it’s Alan Rickaman’s last credit, and I did enjoy the first film to a certain extent. I’ll probably try it on $5 Tuesdays. 

The Do Over

the-do-over-netfix-original-movie-1024x527

Two guys who are down on their luck fake their own deaths to start over with new identities, only to find that the people they’re pretending to be have even worse lives than they do. Comedy. Not Yet Rated. Netflix Original. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Now it’s on Netflix, so I feel a bit better about watching it. It’s an Adam Sandler movie, so if I don’t have to pay for it, it may end up being decent. 

The Ones Below

1

A couple expecting their first child meet their new neighbors, another couple expecting a baby who are unnervingly different and somehow the same. Thriller. Rated R for language, some sexuality and nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This one looks pretty good, and I’m always down for a decent thriller. I’ll check it out. 

So how do you think May is shaping up to look? We start off with Captain America and X-Men as our first really big blockbusters of the summer, a couple of comedies in there to really get it swinging. Anything you are iffy about or want to see reviewed? Comment below or let me know on Facebook/Twitter!

One thought on “Coming Up in May (2016)

Leave a Reply

