Coming Up in March (2016)

As the weather starts to get better and better, it may seem like you should be spending your time outside in the sun instead of in a dark theater. But, for those of you who want to get out of the wind and rain, here are the movies coming up in March.

March 1

Kill Kane

maxresdefault

After witnessing a brutal crime, a teacher (Vinnie Jones) and his family are attacked in their home by a ruthless gang of thugs. With nothing left to lose and unable to place any faith in the criminal justice system, he takes matters into his own hands and hits the streets to find his own brand of justice. Crime, Thriller. Not Yet Rated. Likelihood I’ll go see it: It sounds like pretty much every other vigilante crime drama…I’ll probably pass on this one. 

March 4

Zootopia

fwb_zootopia_20160104

In a city of anthropomorphic animals who live in harmony, a rookie bunny cop desperate to prove herself must pair up with a con artist, fugitive fox in order to solve a conspiracy that threatens the natural order of Zootopia. Animation, Action, Adventure, Comedy, Family. Rated PG for thematic elements, rude humor and action. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I haven’t been too impressed with what I’ve seen so far for this movie, but let’s face it, it’s Disney. I’m going to at least try it. 

London Has Fallen

images

After the British Prime Minister passes away under mysterious circumstances, all the leaders of the Western world travel to London to attend his funeral. The most protected event quickly turns into a deadly plot to kill the most powerful leaders, and the President of the United States (Aaron Eckhart) and his formidable head of secret service (Gerard Butler) are the only ones who have any chance to stop it. Sequel to Olympus Has Fallen (2013). Action, Crime, Thriller. Rated R for strong violence and language throughout. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I never saw Olympus Has Fallen, but the overall premise doesn’t seem awful. If I have time to watch the first movie I may try this one. 

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot

images.jpeg

A journalist (Tina Fey) travels to Afghanistan and Pakistan for her first overseas reporting experience. Comedy, War. Rated R for pervasive language, some sexual content, drug use and violent war images. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This looks like there will be a very fine line between offensive and insightful, so I will probably try it. Plus, it’s hard to go wrong with Martin Freeman. Yeah he’s in this movie too. 

The Wave

the-wave-poster

Based on the mountain pass Åkneset, located in Norway, which has long been predicted to be the future site of a fallout that will create a violent tsunami over 80 meters high that will crush everything in its path before it hits Åkneset. A geologist is caught in the middle of it and a race against time (ten minutes to evacuate) begins. Action, Drama, Thriller. Rated R for some language and disaster images. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Provided it comes to a theater near me (this is Norway’s first disaster movie) I am a huge sucker for disaster movies. Should be fun. 

March 11

10 Cloverfield Lane

10c_1-sht_online_teaser_alt

Waking up from a car accident, a young woman finds herself in the basement of a man who insists he’s saved her life, and that a chemical attack on the outside world has chained things beyond anything she could imagine. Drama, Mystery, Sci-Fi. Not Yet Rated but warnings of violence/gore, sex/partial nudity, profanity, alcohol, drugs/smoking, frightening/intense scenes. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’m trying to find the connection between this and its predecessor (Cloverfield from 2008)and for the life of me I can’t figure out how they’re connected. This is a tentative maybe. 

The Brothers Grimsby

freedvdcover_brothers-grimsby

An top secret assignment reunites a top spy with his older brother, a football-loving and family-oriented hooligan, after being separated in an orphanage many years ago. Action, Comedy. Rated R for strong crude sexual content, graphic nudity, violence, language, and some drug use. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’m not a huge fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and this seems like another movie where Mark Strong will do a great job but it will be a mediocre movie he’ll be overlooked in. I’ll wait until he gets a better role. 

Eye in the Sky

eits_digital_one_sheet

A military officer (Helen Mirren) in command of a drone operation to capture terrorists in Kenya receives intel that the targets are planning a suicide bombing and the mission escalates from “capture” to “kill”. But as the pilot prepares to engage, a nine-year-old girl wanders into the kill zone, triggering an international dispute and questioning the personal implications of modern warfare. Drama, Thriller, War. Rated R for some violent images and language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Even if this movie didn’t look interesting and well-done (which it does), it is one of Alan Rickman’s last movies. Of course I’m going to see that. 

March 18

Midnight Special

Midnight_Special_is_looking_good

A father and his son go on the run after the dad learns that his child posses special and potentially dangerous powers. Adventure, Drama, Sci-Fi. Rated PG-13 for some violence/action and some frightening/intense scenes. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This seems very Close Encounters, not usually my cup of tea. I might try it later on. 

The Divergent Series: Allegiant

images.jpeg

Beatrice Prior and her friends travel into the world outside of the fence and are taken into protective custardy by a mysterious agency known as the Bureau of Genetic Welfare. Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi. Rated PG-13 for intense violence and action, thematic elements, and some partial nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I never finished this book series, and honestly I’m just waiting for these semi-political, post-apocolyptic movies to finally be over. Considering that there is at least one more in this series alone, I’m destined to be disappointed. 

Pee-wee’s Big Holiday

PEE-WEES-BIG-HOLIDAY-400x225

A fateful meeting with a mysterious stranger inspires Pee-wee Herman to take his first-ever holiday in this epic story of friendship and destiny. Adventure, Comedy. Not Yet Rated, to be released on Netflix. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Well it’s supposed to be a Netlix thing, so I don’t have to pay for it, but even then I’m not sure I would be satisfied. 

The Program

The-Program.jpg

An Irish sports journalist (Chris O’Dowd) becomes convinced that Lance Armstrong’s (Ben Foster) performances during the Tour de France races were fueled by banned substances. With this conviction, he begins hunting for evidence that will expose Armstrong. Biography, Drama, Sport. Rated R for language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This does seem like an interesting insight into Lance Armstrong, and I’d like to know more about the story. I’ll probably give this a shot. 

The Bronze

The-Bronze-1-e1452295525873

A foul-mouthed former gymnastics bronze medalist must fight for her local celebrity status when a  new young athlete’s star rises in her hometown. Comedy, Drama. Rated R for strong sexual content, graphic nudity, language throughout and some drug use. Likelihood I’ll go see it: It’s this cute tiny woman swearing like Deadpool. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little interested. 

The Little Prince

littleprince_poster1

A little girl lives in a very grown-up world with a mother who wants to make sure she’s prepared for adulthood. Her neighbor, the Aviator, introduces her to an extraordinary world where anything is possible, the world of The Little Prince. Animation, Fantasy. Rated PG for mild thematic elements. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This looks both adorable and sad at the same time, as well as beautifully made. I’m definitely onboard. 

March 25

Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice

batman_vs_superman_2016_poster_by_abbasvajihi-d7ilwox

Fearing the actions of Superman are being left unchecked, Batman challenges him while the world struggles with what kind of hero it really needs. A new threat, Doomsday, is created by Lex Luthor during the struggle, and it is up to Superman and Batman to put aside their differences and work with Wonder Woman to stop Luthor and Doomsday from destroying Metropolis. Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci-Fi. Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and action throughout, and some sensuality. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Probably, but only because I don’t want to be accused of being impartial to Marvel. I should probably see Man of Steel first though. 

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2

big-fat-greek-wedding-2-poster.jpg

The Portokalos family is brought together for a bigger, fatter and even more Greek wedding when it is discovered at a marriage license was never signed. Comedy. Rated PG-13 for some suggestive material. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I vaguely remember enjoying the first one…I’ll refresh myself on that and see if this is something I want to continue. 

I Saw the Light

I-Saw-The-Light-e1449677655267

The story of country-western singer Hank Williams, who in his brief life created one of the greatest bodies of work in American music. The film chronicles his rise to fame and its effect on his marriage, his healthy and his mental state. Biography, Drama, Music. Rated R for some language and brief sexuality/nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’ve never really listened to country, so I’d be interested to see the story of such a large singer in the genre. 

How do you feel about the line-up this March? Anything you’re really excited to see? Anything you want reviewed before you spend money on it? Comment below or start a conversation at ReelTalk’s Facebook page or @ReelTalkSite on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

