Coming Up in February (2016)

As the snow melts and the Oscar nominees prepare for their big night, more movies are coming into theaters! So while it’s still cold outside, what new movies are you going to want to see?

February 1

Blue Mountain State: The Rise of Thadland

images

A party-crazy frat is faced with losing their house to the new and strict dean. They appeal to a pro NFL player to fund their house, and he agrees as long as they throw him the greatest party ever. Comedy, Sport. Rated R for strong crude and sexual content, rug use and language throughout, and some graphic nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Honestly I’m not even totally sure if this is the movie, it was the most I got from the trailer. Definitely doesn’t look like something I’ll enjoy. 

The Rise of the Krays

rise-of-the-krays

The story of Britain’s most notorious gangsters, twin brothers Reggie and Ronnie Kray, as told from the perspective of one of their closest friends after starting as amateur boxers and ending up as brutal criminal masterminds. Released in the U.K. in May and in Germany in January. Rated R for brutal bloody violence throughout, language and a some sexuality/nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This doesn’t seem like something that would make it to any theaters near me, but I don’t know if it’s to my taste anyway. 

February 5

Hail, Caesar!

images

Eddie Mannix (Josh Brolin), a Hollywood fixer who works for Capital Pictures in the 1950s, is tasked with clean-ups and solving problems for big stars in the industry. When studio star Baird Whitlock (George Clooney) disappears, Mannix has to deal with more than just fixing the problem. Comedy, Drama, Musical, Mystery. Rated PG for moments of mild language, violence and sensuality. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Most of the cast looks good, but I’m not blown away by the story. Maybe when it’s out in video stores. 

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

new-international-trailer-for-pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies

Jane Austen’s classic tale of lovers from different social classes  in 19th century England is faced with a new and frightening challenge- an army of undead zombies. Action, Horror, Romance. Rated PG-13 for zombie violence and action, and brief suggestive material. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I haven’t read either book, but this movie looks just ridiculous enough that I might enjoy it anyway. I’m willing to give it a shot. 

The Choice

the-choice_nws1

Travis (Benjamin Walker) and Gabby (Teresa Palmer) meet as neighbors in a small coastal town and wind up in a relationship that is tested by life’s most defining events. Drama, Romance. Rated PG-13 for sexual content and some thematic issues. Likelihood I’ll go and see it: This sounds exactly like every other Nicholas Sparks movie, and I have slept through the last two I’ve seen. I’ll pass. 

Regression

2015-Regression_m

Set in Minnesota in the 1980s, a man is arrested and accused of sexually abusing his daughter. Although he doesn’t remember this, he pleads guilty. With the help of his psychologist, he’ll relive those moments and be thrown into the center of a conspiracy that shocks the nation. Crime, Drama, Mystery, Thriller. Rated R for disturbing violent and sexual content, and for language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I hadn’t realized what this film was about based on the trailer, but it definitely looks interesting. I’ll give it a go. 

Dad’s Army 

Here_s_the_first_poster_for_the_new_Dad_s_Army_film

The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard platoon deals with a female journalist and a German spy as World War II draws to a close, hoping to become an important part of the war. Comedy. Not Yet Rated. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Not very high. 

Misconduct

images

When an ambitious young lawyer (Josh Duhamel) takes on a big case against a powerful and ruthless executive of a pharmaceutical company (Anthony Hopkins), he finds himself at the center of a case of blackmail, corruption and murder. Drama, Thriller. Rated R for language, violence and some sexuality/nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I hadn’t heard of this one, but it seems like an interesting story. I might try it out. 

February 12

Deadpool

deadpool-movie-costume-pic-2

A former Special Forces operative, Wade Wilson (Ryan Reynolds) is diagnosed with terminal cancer, leading him to take part in a rogue experiment that grants him accelerated healing powers. He adopts the alter ego Deadpool and sets out for revenge on the man who destroyed his life and threatens his girl. Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller. Rated R for strong violence and language throughout, sexual content and graphic nudity. Likelihood I’ll go and see it: Not only is it a Marvel film, but it’s a Marvel film that looks funny as well as dark. I’m all in. 

Zoolander 2

LbW8Y

Derek (Ben Stiller) and Hansel (Owen Wilson) are modeling again and realizing that their moment in the spotlight may be up when they are approached by Interpol about a criminal mastermind taking out beautiful people all over the world. Comedy. Not Rated. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I haven’t seen the first movie, so that still must happen. But I have to say, based just on the commercial, I was not that intrigued. 

How to Be Single

maxresdefault

New York City is full of people like Alice (Dakota Johnson), Robin (Rebel Wilson), Lucy, Meg, Tom and David- lonely hearts seeking the right match. What they have in common is that they need to learn how to be single in a world where the definition of love is constantly changing. Comedy, Romance. Rated R for sexual content and strong language throughout. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This looks like a combination of Trainwreck and Valentine’s Day, but who knows. Maybe I could do with a stupid laugh. 

A War

maxresdefault

Company commander Claus Pedersen (Pilou Asbaek) and his men are stationed in the Afghan province while his wife Maria (Tuva Novotny) is at home in Denmark trying to hold everyday life together. During a routine mission Pedersen makes a decision to save his men that holds grave consequences for him and his family. Drama, War. Rated R for language and some war related images. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Honestly, it looks like every other war movie I’ve seen advertised lately. I probably can get the idea. 

February 19

The Witch

large_unnamed

In 1630s New England, William and Katherine lead a devout Christian life and homestead on the edge of the wilderness with their five children. When their newborn son vanishes into thin air and their crops begin to fail, the family turns on one another in fear, leaving them prey to an inescapable evil. Horror. Rated R for disturbing violent content and graphic nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This actually looks pretty terrifying, which would be nice after the only slightly good ones we had last month. 

Risen

images

Clavius (Joseph Fiennes), a powerful Roman military tribune, and his aide Lucius (Tom Felton), are tasked with solving the mystery of what happened to Jesus’ body after it vanishes from his tomb. If they can find it, the rumors of a risen Messiah will be thwarted and it will prevent an uprising in Jerusalem. Action, Adventure, Drama, Mystery. Rated PG-13 for Biblical violence including some disturbing images. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’m actually very interested in this one, the story that everyone knows told from the point of view of a non-believer. I’ll definitely check this one out. 

Race

MV5BMTUyODY0MjM3MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODI2MDMwNzE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

Jesse Owens’ journey to become the greatest track and field athlete thrusts him into the world of the 1936 Olympics, where he faces off against Adolf Hitler’s vision of Aryan supremacy in an age where discrimination was still very prevalent in America. Biography, Drama, Sport. Rated PG-13 for thematic elements and language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I feel like this is a story I both do and do not know, so I might give it a shot if I have some extra time. 

Forsaken

sz300_forsaken-2016-d609

John Henry (Kiefer Sutherland) returns home to repair his relationship with his father (Donald Sutherland), but a local gang is threatening the locals and their homesteads. John is the only one who can stop them, but he wants to abandon his gun and reputation as a fearless killer. Drama, Western. Rated R for violence and some language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’m not seeing anything that makes this look different from any other western. Maybe that’s the point of westerns, but it doesn’t help me.

February 26

Triple 9

images

A crew of corrupt officers and criminals plans to execute an nearly impossible heist by manufacturing a 999, a police code for “officer down”. Their plan must change when a rookie they set up to die foils the attack. Crime, Thriller. Rated R for strong violence and language throughout, drug use and some nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This actually looks very interesting, plus I’m liking the cast I’m seeing. I think I’ll try this one out. 

Gods of Egypt

MV5BMjEyNTM0MDEzMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjAxMDA1NzE@._V1_SX640_SY720_.jpg

Set (Gerard Butler), the god of darkness, has taken over the throne of Egypt and has plunged the empire into chaos and conflict. A young thief, whose love has been taken captive, calls upon the god Horus (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) to help him defeat Set and bring peace back to Egypt. Adventure, Fantasy. Rated PG-13 for fantasy violence and action, and some sexuality. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Yes, this basically looks like Wrath of the Titans but with Egyptian gods instead of Greek gods, but what can I say? It looks fun. I’ll give it a try. 

Standoff

23371516574_8cbb61c002

Carter (Thomas Jane), a troubled veteran, gets a chance at redemption by protecting a little girl from an assassin (Laurence Fishburne)when she witnesses a murder. He engages the assassin in physical and psychological ware far for the girl’s life with a single shotgun shell. Thriller. Rated R for strong violence and language throughout. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Meh, other than Laurence Fishburne, I’m not seeing anything here that interests me. 

Eddie the Eagle

images.jpeg

Michael “Eddie” Edwards (Taron Egerton) was never picked for a sports team, but that never stopped him- not even when he wanted to become the first British ski jumper to enter the Winter Olympics. With the help of his coach Bronson Peary (Hugh Jackman), Edwards sets out to prove to the entire nation that he can make his dream come true. Biography, Drama, History. Rated PG-13 for brief strong language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Yes, this looks like most other feel good sports movies about underdogs. But I am actually a big sucker for those, so I think I’ll try this one too, see how it holds up. 

So how do you feel about February’s movie line-up? Anything you’re really excited to see? Anything you want reviewed? Comment below or start a conversation at ReelTalk’s Facebook page or @ReelTalkSite on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

