Coming Up in January (2016)

It’s almost time to kick off the new year, so let’s take a look at the first few movies we’ll have access to! It looks like we’ll have plenty of Westerns and Sci-Fi this new year, what looks the most interesting to you?

 January 1:

The Hateful Eight

new-hateful-eight-poster-comic-con

Quentin Tarantino’s 8th film takes place in post-Civil War Wyoming, where bounty hunters try to find shelter during a blizzard and are caught up in a plot of betrayal and deception. Who walks out alive? Drama, Mystery, Thriller. Rated R for strong bloody violence, violent sexual content, language and some graphic nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Somehow I think if I start watching Tarantino, this shouldn’t be the movie to start with. Maybe after I watch a few more. 

January 8:

The Revenant

revenant-leo

In the 1820s, explorer Hugh Glass (Leonardo DiCaprio) is brutally attacked by a bear and left for dead by the members of his own hunting team. In his quest to survive, Glass must endure unimaginable grief and pain resulting from the betrayal of his confident John Fitzgerald (Tom Hardy), the harsh winter, and desire to return to his family. Based on a true story. Adventure, Drama, Thriller, Western. Rated R for strong frontier combat and violence including gory images, a sexual assault, language and brief nudity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I definitely am up for this one, I want to see what may finally win Leo his Oscar!

The Forest

the-forest-2016-poster

In Japan, the Aokigahara Forest is known as “the Suicide Forest”, a real location where many go to end their lives. Sara (Natalie Dormer), a young American woman, travels there in search of her twin sister who disappeared, looking for answers about her fate. Everyone warns her not to stray from the path, else be confronted by the angry and tortured souls of the dead who prey on those who pass… Horror. Rated PG-13 for disturbing thematic content and images. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Pretty high, I could use a good horror movie and this one seems interesting. 

Diablo

diablo-poster-360x350

A young Civil War veteran (Scott Eastwood) is forced onto a desperate journey to save his kidnapped wife (Camilla Belle). Action, Adventure, Thriller, Western. Rated R for violence and thematic images. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Lots of post-Civil War this new year…I’m not much of a Western fan, maybe I’ll see it with my dad if he wants to go. 

January 15:

400 Days

400-days-600x338

Four astronauts are sent on a simulated mission to a distant planet in order to test the psychological effects of deep space travel. While they are locked away for 400 days, the crew’s mental state begins to deteriorate when they lose communication with the outside world, and when they exit the ship, they discover it may not have been a simulation at all. Mystery, Sci-Fi, Thriller. Not Yet Rated. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Slim, I’ve kinda had my fill of space movies this year. 

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

13_hours

An American ambassador is killed during an attack on a U.S. compound in Libya as a security team struggles to make sense out of the chaos. Action, Drama, Thriller. Rated R for strong combat violence, bloody images, and strong language. Likelihood I’ll go see it: This will probably be one that I wait until it’s out of theaters to watch. 

The Lady in the Van

2BF430BC00000578-0-image-a-238_1441323313262 

A man forms an unexpected bond with a transient woman (Maggie Smith) living in her car while it’s parked in front of his driveway. Listed as “mostly a true story”. Biography, Comedy, Drama. Rated PG-13 for unsettling images, sex and nudity, violence and gore, and profanity. Likelihood I’ll go see it: As much as I love Maggie Smith, the story doesn’t really intrigue me. Maybe when it’s in a cheaper theater. 

The Benefactor

The-Benefactor-Featured

A philanthropist (Richard Gere) is consumed by guilt over the death of a couple in a car accident. The eccentric man then proceeds to provide financial assistance (and meddle) in the lives of their pregnant daughter (Dakota Fanning) and her husband (Theo James). Drama. Not Yet Rated. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Pretty slim, this seems like a “wait for Netflix” kinda thing.

Ride Along 2

ice-cube-kevin-hart-ride-along-2-poster

As his wedding day approaches, Ben (Kevin Hart) heads to Miami with his soon-to-be brother-in-law James (Ice Cube) to bring down a drug dealer who’s been supplying to the dealers of Atlanta. Action, Comedy. Rated PG-13 for sequences of violence, sexual content, language and some drug material. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Slim, I’m not a huge fan of Kevin Hart’s brand of funny. If I do, I’ll have to borrow my brother’s copy of Ride Along. 

Norm of the North

norm-of-the-north-poster

When they’re displaced from their Arctic home, a polar bear named Norm (Rob Schneider) and his three lemming friends wind up in New York City. Norm ends up as the mascot of a cooperation that he soon learns is tied to the future welfare of his homeland. Animation, Adventure, Comedy, Family. Rated PG for mild rude humor and action. Likelihood I’ll go see it: What even is this? It looks like The Bee Movie, but for polar bears…

January 20

Beauty and the Beast

MCDBEAN EC150

An unexpected romance blooms after the youngest daughter of a merchant offers herself to the mysterious beast to whom her father has become indebted. Fantasy, Romance. Not Yet Rated, but warnings of implications of sex, nudity and a lot of cleavage. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Sadly, this is not the Emma Watson version. For anyone who keeps up with French cinema, this has actually been out for a year or two, but is only now being released in the US, so if this is a fairy tale you enjoy, by all means, jump on it. 

January 22

The Boy

The-Boy-2016-300x160

Greta (Lauren Cohan), an American nanny, accepts a job in a remote English village, only to discover that the family’s 8-year-old son is actually a life-sized doll that the parents treat like a real boy to cope with their son’s death 20 years ago. When Greta violates a strict set of rules, a series of disturbing and inexplicable events start to make her believe that the doll is really alive. Horror, Thriller. Rated PG-13 for violence and terror, as well as for thematic material. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Despite how bad horror movies about dolls usually are, I’m going to stay positive and say this one looks good. Just don’t pull an Annabelle please. 

Dirty Grandpa

dirty-grandpa-movie-banner

Right before his wedding, uptight Jason Kelly (Zac Efron) is tricked into driving his perverted, former Army general grandfather (Robert De Niro) to Florida for spring break. Comedy. Rated R for crude sexual content, graphic nudity, language and drug use. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Dunno. I do like some De Niro and Efron, but this type of humor doesn’t usually appeal to me…maybe I’ll take my brother. 

Exposed

Exposed_2016_Poster

After she witnesses a miracle, a young Latina woman experiences strange things as a police detective searches for the truth behind his partner’s death. Drama. Rated R including a sexual assault and language throughout. Likelihood I’ll go see it: Dunno, the trailer and the description haven’t really pulled me in…maybe for Netflix. 

The 5th Wave

first-looks-at-the-5th-wave-trailer-and-movie-poster-image-edited-by-me-602755

Four waves of increasingly deadly alien attacks have left most of Earth decimated. Cassie is on the run from the invaders as she tries desperately to save her brother and prepare for the inevitable and lethal fifth wave. She teams up with a young man who may be her final hope and tries to figure out who she can trust in the new world. Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller. Rated PG-13 for violence and destruction, some sci-fi thematic elements, language and brief teen partying. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I couldn’t even make myself finish the book. I’m really not interested in another Dystopian, teen girl-against-the world story, even if it’s more sci-fi than The Hunger Games or Divergent- oh wait…

January 27

Lazer Team 

Lazer_Team_film_poster

Residents of Earth receive a message from outer space telling them that they are not alone. Thankfully the message came from a friendly alien race that has protected Earth for years, but the galaxy is a dangerous place, so they give the humans tools to fight back. Action, Comedy, Sci-Fi. PG-13 for sexual material including references, language, action violence, teen partying and smoking. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I probably won’t even see this one on Netflix. 

January 29

Kung Fu Panda 3

11390230_10153440497252059_8288999027737723324_n-932x555

When Po (Jack Black) is reunited with his father (Bryan Cranston), they travel to a secret panda paradise to remind Po of his roots. When a new supernatural villain named Kai (J.K. Simmons) begins to defeat all of the kung fu masters in China, Po must train a village of fun-loving, clumsy pandas to become the ultimate fighting team. Animation, Action, Adventure, Comedy, Family. Rated PG for martial arts action and some mild rude humor. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I have actually enjoyed this series so far, I might not see this right away but it will definitely be something I try, hoping it is as good as its predecessors. 

Fifty Shades of Black

FiftyShadesofBlack

Kali Hawk and Marion Wayans parody the popular film/novel Fifty Shades of Gray. Comedy. Rated R for strong crude sexual content including graphic nudity and language throughout. Likelihood I’ll go see it: If I want to watch someone make fun of something, I’ll watch the CinemaSins. This doesn’t look that fun to me. 

The Finest Hours

FinestHoursBar640

Based on a true story, one of the worst storms ever to hit the East Coast has struck New England, damaging an oil tanker off the coast of Cape Cod. Four members of the Coast Guard set out in frigid temperatures and 70 foot waves to rescue more than 30 sailors trapped aboard the sinking tanker. Action, Drama, History, Thriller. Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of perilous action. Likelihood I’ll go see it: While I’m a little iffy about the romance that was present in the first trailer, I am interested in the overall story and I’ll probably give it a viewing. 

Jane Got a Gun

jane-got-a-gun-poster

Jane Hammond (Natalie Portman) built a new life with her husband Bill Hammond (Noah Emmerich) after being tormented by the violent Bishop Boys outlaw gang. When Hammond comes home full of bullets after dueling with their relentless mastermind, Colin (Ewan McGregor), Jane finds herself in their crosshairs once more. She turns to her former fiancé Dan Frost (Joel Edgerton) to help defend her family against certain destruction. Action, Drama, Western. Rated R for violence, profanity, and frightening/intense scenes. Likelihood I’ll go see it: I’ve never been a huge fan of westerns, but I’m always up for something with Natalie Portman, so I can try it out. 

What do you think of January’s line up? What are you wanting to see? What would you like reviewed before you spend money to see it yourself? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

